Michaelangelo’s

Thanks to a good review by Jeff and Michele Eat Cleveland, we decided to try Michaelangelo’s in Little Italy.  We are so glad we did.  It is a little gem that we didn’t know existed.

IMG_0663

FRIED ARTICHOKES STUFFED WITH CRAB AND ROASTED RED PEPPER PUREE

IMG_0664

KOBE BEEF TENDERLOIN CARPACCIO, LEMON, CAPERS, PARMIGIANO REGGIANO

He said…Who doesn’t enjoy fried food!  I liked the combination of the artichoke and crab and thought the roasted red pepper puree was a nice complement.  However, the carpaccio was easily the star of the evening.  The combination of the components tasted fresh and delicious.  It’s definitely a dish I would go back for.

She said…The fried artichokes were interesting.  I liked the concept, and I really wanted to like them, but I found them to be a little bland.  Maybe it was because the carpaccio was so bursting with flavor.  This is the best beef carpaccio that I have ever had.  The flavors were so fresh and bright.  I loved every bite!

IMG_0665

PAPPARDELLE ALLA BOLOGNESE
FLAT RIBBONS OF PASTA, VEAL, MUSCOVY DUCK, GUINEA FOWL
AND TOMATO-BAROLO RAGÙ

IMG_0667

SACCHETTI AL TARTUFO
RICOTTA AND BLACK TRUFFLE STUFFED PASTA AND BLACK TRUFFLE CREAM SAUCE

IMG_0666

RAVIOLI DI VITELLO CON FUNGHI E TARTUFI
VEAL AND TRUFFLE RAVIOLI, MUSHROOM TRIFOLATA AND FONTINA CHEESE

He said…I thought two of the pasta dishes were excellent, but the sacchetti al tartufo was my favorite.  The dish was very rich and I’m not sure I could have finished an entree size portion by myself, but it was the standout of the three that we tried.  My next favorite was the ravioli, however, I’m partial to any dish with mushrooms.  Last, I thought the bolognese was a tad under-seasoned.

She said…My favorite of the three pasta dishes was by far the ricotta and black truffle.  It was utterly amazing!  The pasta was so fresh and perfectly cooked in all the dishes, but that cream sauce was so creamy and decadent, it surpassed the others in overall satisfaction for me.  The veal ravioli was also good.  I liked the earthiness of the mushrooms and the overall saltiness (but not too much) of the dish.  The bolognese was my least favorite of the three.  There just wasn’t as much flavor in the sauce as I had expected.  I prefer the bolognese at Dante, which is full of that rich, meaty flavor.

After all of that food and a great bottle of Brunello to go along with it, we were stuffed and happy.  The service was fantastic, and we also really liked the atmosphere. We will definitely be back!

Michaelangelo's on Urbanspoon

1 thought on “Michaelangelo’s

Leave a comment