Another trip to Harvest Kitchen

We weren’t sure about taking our six year old daughter to Harvest Kitchen, but since we were celebrating a special occasion, we try to avoid most chain restaurants, and we have a pretty mature and well behaved child, we decided to go for it.  We called ahead to make sure that there would be something for her to eat, and although they do not have a kids menu, they informed us that they could certainly make something to accommodate her.

IMG_1384

Jerk Spiced Carolina Organic catfish… Anson mills cheddar grits, heirloom carrots, pepitas & bourbon – maple butter

He said…This was a pretty generous portion of fish, which was prepared well. However, the maple butter made the dish a little too sweet for my taste, and I wish I tasted more of the jerk spice.  I enjoyed the cheddar grits, which were delicious and added a nice comfort food touch to the dish.

IMG_1383

Pumpkin ravioli with brown butter and duck confit

She said…Pumpkin ravioli is one of my favorites, but I was a little hesitant about ordering it since the last time I was here the filling was lacking in pumpkin flavor.  I decided to give it another try, and I’m happy to say that it was much better.  I could definitely taste the pumpkin.  This was a good dish, and I enjoyed it.  The only thing I didn’t care for was the duck confit.  I liked the flavor, and thought it worked well with the other flavors in the dish, but the consistency was dry and tough.  I ended up pushing it to the side and leaving it on the plate.

They prepared some buttered noodles with parmesan for our picky six year old.  We did manage to get her to try the ravioli (after scraping all evidence of other ingredients off of it, of course).  We wouldn’t categorize Harvest as kid friendly, and probably wouldn’t take her with us on a busy weekend night.  This was a week night and fairly early, so the restaurant was not crowded, and we felt comfortable having our daughter with us.

We had good service, and although there were a couple of things we thought could’ve been better with our dishes, we wouldn’t hesitate to head back to Harvest Kitchen.

Harvest Kitchen & Lounge on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

