Komi, Washington, D.C.

She said…The other place I visited on my trip was Komi.  Ranked number one on the Washingtonian’s 2012 Very Best Restaurants, Komi was truly a foodie experience.  There are no menus. They serve a mulit-course meal starting with many small dishes and working up to a couple of small pasta dishes and a family style entre before finishing with several small desserts.  There is also an optional wine pairing that we decided to try.

Unfortunately, I don’t have any pictures of the food.  First of all, their website asks that no photographs be taken.  I went in with the attitude that if I’m paying that kind of money for a meal, I’ll take a picture of it if I want to.  However, after arriving, I quickly changed my mind.  It is very small, dark and intimate.  I realized that I would not be able to capture the food without a flash, and that a flash would clearly disturb the other diners.  We never make a production when we photograph our meal.  We try to quickly and inconspicuously snap a photo.  All the photographs on this blog are taken with our iPhones.  Taking pictures here certainly would have taken away from the overall experience.  There were so many courses. I would have constantly been snapping photos, and that just would not have worked in that atmosphere.

I still wanted to share this experience and describe some of the dishes we had.  There was some very unique food, and I tried a few things that I had never tasted before.  I’m a pretty adventurous eater, so of course I tried everything.  There really wasn’t anything that I didn’t like.  So here is what I could remember of the menu.

  • Toasted Brioche
  • Trout roe, salted pineapple, olive oil and hazelnut
  • Spanakopita with liquid center
  • Scallop with fresh garbonzo beans
  • Sea Bream
  • Monkfish liver with truffled mushrooms
  • Date stuffed with mascapone and fleur de sel
  • Gnocchi (Yukon Gold) with sea urchin and pea shoots
  • Venison Pappardelle with pecorino and cocoa
  • Braised Goat Shoulder and Veal Rib (pita, beets, red onion mustard, lemon salt, chilis, tzatziki sauce)
  • Chocolate Honeycomb
  • Peanut butter salted caramel cake
  • Butterscotch flan, hazelnut, lemon poundcake croutons
  • Date spiced cake with gelato and blood orange marmalade

Trying so many different things made for a fun evening with fellow foodies.  I really enjoyed all of the food, and was excited to try the next thing as each course was served.  If I had to pick one dish that stuck out for me, it was the Venison Pappardelle.  I’m a sucker for a good pasta, and the cocoa in the sauce gave it a very distinct flavor.  I was with some friends who are highly educated about wine, and overall they were not impressed with the wine pairings.  We would probably skip the pairing if we went back.

If you enjoy a lengthy tasting menu and are up for eating whatever they throw at you, you would certainly enjoy Komi.  The service was impeccable as one would expect in such an upscale venue.  It’s definitely a special occassion kind of place, which you will be reminded of when you get the bill!

Komi on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

