Blue Duck Tavern, Washington, D.C.

She said…I recently visited some friends in Washington, D.C. and we did exactly what we usually do when we get together…eat and drink to excess!  It was a lovely weekend filled with fabulous food and friends.  Our first stop was the Blue Duck Tavern.

Oven roasted bone marrow spiced pumpkin butter

Wow!  That’s really all I can say about this.  I’ve never seen marrow served this way.  Our server informed us that it was a calf femur bone.  Some of this spread on some crunchy french bread was truly one of the best things I’ve ever tasted.

Sweet potato tart

This was very good, but too sweet to be eaten as an appetizer in my opinion.

Braised Beef Rib house made steak sauce

The three of us shared family style so I got the chance to taste all three entres.  The braised beef rib was so tender and juicy, it was the favorite in my book.

Chicken and Lobster

I originally thought this a strange combination, but our server informed us that it is a traditional French dish, and we all enjoyed it.

Suckling Pig

How can you go wrong?

Creamy Grits with Red Eye Gravy and Brussel Sprouts

The grits were one of the highlights of the meal for me.  They were so creamy and that gravy gave it a certain tangy punch that just took it over the top.  The sprouts were good too!

Peanut Butter ice cream with caramel sauce

Our server, who was fabulous by the way, described this dessert as a “foodgasm” and she was not wrong!

Rhubarb Strawberry Cobler with buttermilk biscuits

Also delicious, but the ice cream and caramel sauce still won out for me.

A truly decadent meal!  My friends know just where to take me whenever I visit.  If you are in the D.C. area, I would highly recommend the Blue Duck Tavern.

Blue Duck Tavern on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

