Lucky’s Cafe

I can’t believe it has taken us this long to try Lucky’s Cafe in Tremont.  We’re so glad we finally did.  We headed there on a Saturday morning for brunch.  We arrived at about 11:30 and it was packed.  The wait was not nearly as long as they estimated, and we were happily seated within about 15 minutes.

Stuffed French Toast with apricots and black courant sauce

She said…This was like dessert for breakfast (which I am totally ok with).  I absolutely love a breakfast place with a little something more to offer than your standard eggs, bacon and pancakes.  This french toast was the special of the day.  All the ingredients were fresh, and the dish was bursting with flavor.  We can often be seen trading plates throughout a meal.  We especially like to share one sweet and one savory dish at breakfast, which worked out well here since this dish was particularly sweet and filling.

He said…I usually tend to order on the savory side for breakfast, but I’m glad I got to enjoy this sweet dish.  This was one very rich plate of food.  The ricotta filling was delicious and not too sweet.  I especially loved the black courant sauce.

Cheddar scallion biscuits topped with soft scrambled eggs and sausage gravy served with hash brown potatoes and grapes

He said…This dish was right up my alley and made me very happy.  This was the perfect comfort food breakfast.  I don’t think the picture does justice for the dish since this was one hearty plate of food.  The eggs were cooked perfectly and the sausage gravy was rich and flavorful.  However, the homemade biscuits were the highlight of the dish for me.  I think I would have been perfectly content on having these biscuits with a whole stick of butter on the side!

She said… This is not something I would normally order, but I would order again here.  The eggs were so light and fluffy, the sausage gravy flavorful, and those cheddar scallion biscuits were fantastic!

The service was wonderful.  The entire staff was super friendly, and truly made us feel welcome.  We can think of a few places that could take a lesson in customer service from Lucky’s.  There is no doubt that we’ll be back!

Lucky's Cafe on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

