New Orleans

We’re back after a bit of a holiday hiatus.  Things have been a little hectic for us with the holidays and some traveling, but we’re back and ready to blog.  We’ll start with our trip to New Orleans in early December. Unfortunately, we lost some of the photos we took, but  we did experience some great food.  This post is a sampling of what we enjoyed.

The first place we checked out was The Bon Ton Cafe in downtown New Orleans.  An apparent favorite among the locals, they serve Cajun fare prepared from original family recipes.  On a Friday afternoon it was bustling with New Orleans business people.  We started with a bottle of Sauvignon Blanc and prepared to enjoy the fried food.

Fried Catfish with Alzina’s special sauce

He said…After a long morning stuck in an airplane, I was definitely looking forward to a good meal.  I asked our server for a recommendation and he suggested the catfish.  Even though the fish was fried, the dish didn’t “feel” heavy and the batter was light and delicious.  The sauce that accompanied the fish was great.

She said…One of the pictures lost was my fried crawfish tails also served with Alzina’s special sauce.  I love crawfish and this was perfectly fried and seasoned.  The sauce really made the dish for me.  It’s difficult to describe, but it’s creamy and tangy and delicious.

Of course no trip to New Orleans would be complete without beignets from Cafe du Monde.  These square pieces of dough, fried and covered in powdered sugar melt in your mouth.

The culinary highlight of our trip was a visit to John Besh’s Restaurant August.

Amuse Bouche of Egg Custard

Pork Belly with Foie Gras

Duck Breast with Brussel Sprouts

He said…I knew we were in for a great meal when I tasted the amuse bouche.  The skill involved making this dish was incredible and it tasted even better.  I ordered the pork belly with foie gras for my appetizer (you didn’t think I’d pass up a pork belly dish!), which was amazing.  Just when I thought my dinner could not get better, my duck entree arrived.  The duck was perfectly cooked and may have been the best duck dish that I have ever had.

She said…My pictures were lost, but I clearly remember the gnocchi tossed with blue crab and black truffle and the trout with wild mushrooms and hollandaise sauce.  Everything was top notch…the food, the presentation and the service.

A note about the cocktails.  We were in New Orleans to celebrate a close friend’s 40th birthday, so there was certainly some partying to be done. From the hurricanes and mojitos to the morning bloody mary, all the cocktails we had were fresh and delicious!  How could we not love a city that takes its food and drink so seriously!

Restaurant August on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

