Everyday People Cafe

Another place we enjoyed while on vacation last week was Everyday People Cafe in Douglas, Michigan.

We started with the Local Beef Carpaccio, which we chowed down before we remembered to take a picture!  Prepared with capers, shallots, parmesan, tomato and white truffle oil, it was fresh and delicious.

Chicken and Gnocchi

She said…I broke my own rule and actually ordered chicken.  I usually never order chicken because a.) it’s just not my favorite thing to eat and b.) I think I can do a pretty good job of cooking it at home.  Now gnocchi, on the other hand, I will eat pretty much anytime, anywhere.  This ricotta gnocchi was perfect.  The chicken was lightly breaded and fried, and very tasty.  This dish was prepared with white wine, lemon and capers, fresh mozzerella, arugula, tomato, artichokes and truffle oil.  It sounds like a lot going on in one dish, but it really worked well.  My rule breaking turned out to be a good decision on this particular occassion.

Mac-N-Cheese

He said…how can you go wrong with Mac-N-Cheese?  This preparation with Michigan cheese blend, garlic, shallot, tomato, arugula and peas sounded right up my alley, but I have to say it was not very good.  The pasta was terribly overcooked to the point of being mushy, and the sauce was very thin and runny.  I could see the potential for a good dish in there somewhere, but the execution fell flat.  Even so, based on the carpaccio and the chicken dish, I would go back and try something else.

Everyday People Cafe on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

