L’Albatros

We love overnight date night!  We recently spent a night at Glidden House  and made the most of a night out (and a lazy morning) without kids.  Glidden House is a lovely boutique hotel in the University Circle area.  We dined at L’Albatros, which is conveniently located within walking distance.

IMG_1604

Selection of five cheeses

IMG_1601

“French Toast” with ragout of wild mushrooms and balsamic syrup

IMG_1602

Escargots with toasted garlic and fennel butter

IMG_1603

Goat Cheese Tart with olives and sun dried tomatoes

IMG_1605

Veal Short Rib with wild mushroom risotto and veal jus

IMG_1606

Cassoulet – braised white beans, pork belly, lamb, duck confit and sausages

He said…I had a more favorable impression of the restaurant after our second visit.  I loved the cheese course, which our cheesemonger helped us navigate through the many choices.  Our server mentioned that the preparation of the cassoulet was a deconstructed version of the classic dish and I was very eager to try it.  The dish was right up my alley as it was a meat lovers dream!  All the pieces of meat were cooked beautifully and the duck confit was very rich in flavor and taste.  The sausages were good but not as flavorful as I would have preferred.  Overall, however, the dish was a perfect meal on a cold winter’s night.

She said…I keep hearing about how everyone loves this restaurant.  I guess I’m the exception.  This is the second time I’ve eaten here, and I’m just not a big fan.  The best part of this meal for me was the cheese.  I loved all of the selections that the cheesemonger picked for our table, and I’d honestly go back to just sit at the bar and eat cheese and drink wine.  It’s mostly that I’m just not that into this style of cooking.  It’s a little too traditional for my taste.  I enjoyed the appetizers more than the main dish.  I thought the take on French toast was pretty interesting and the goat cheese tart was tasty.  The veal short rib dish was just ok.  It wasn’t as tender as I expected, and the flavors were very one note.  The last time I ate here I had the beef bourguignonne, and it also wasn’t as tender and flavorful as I had hoped.  I think I’ll stick with cheese.

Although we may have differing opinions about L’Albatros, we do agree that it was a great night with great friends, and we won’t wait too long before we do it again!

L'Albatros on Urbanspoon

One thought on “L’Albatros

Leave a Reply

