ad hoc (Napa Valley Part 6)

We were excited to try ad hoc in Yountville.  We like their concept of serving a family style meal where the menu changes daily.  We had pretty high expectations as it is a Thomas Keller restaurant.

salad

shrimp poboy

chicken

green beans

cheese course

chocolate pot de creme

She said…I have to say that I was a little disappointed with this meal.  There wasn’t anything that was bad (although I thought the shrimp poboy was rather dry and lacking in flavor).  There just wasn’t anything particularly memorable or exciting to me.  We made these reservations a few months in advance of our trip due to the fact that it was harvest and a very busy time of year.  Since they change the menu daily, and there is no choice in what you get, we had no idea what we would be having that evening.  That is generally fine with us, as we like to try new things and are fairly adventurous eaters, but had I known the main dish was chicken, I very well may have opted for another of the area’s many restaurants.

He said…I thought the meal was OK.  I enjoyed the chicken, which was moist and beautifully cooked. The chocolate pot de creme was another highlight of the meal.  However, the shrimp poboy missed the mark as the bread was too dry and there was too much breading on the shrimp.  Aside from the highlights above, the rest of the meal was ordinary.

With so many great restaurants in the area, ad hoc would probably not be high on our list of places to return the next time we visit Napa.

Ad Hoc on Urbanspoon

2 thoughts on “ad hoc (Napa Valley Part 6)

  1. Hi there would you mind sharing which blog platform you’re working with? I’m going to start my own blog soon but I’m having a difficult time selecting between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your layout seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something unique.

    P.S Apologies for being off-topic but I had to ask!

Leave a Reply

