Accent

Accent, a new restaurant from the owner of SASA in Shaker Heights, recently opened in University Heights.  We had the chance to check it out with some friends recently on a Saturday night.

There were quite a few unique cocktails on the menu, so we each started with a different choice.

She said…Mine was a blood orange margharita.  It was good, but a little on the sweet side for me.

He said…Mine was the Vesper martini.  I enjoyed the cocktail, which had both gin, vodka and hint of sweetness.

We started with a couple of appetizers.  They were out of the Accent Crudo (tuna, hamachi, salmon) appetizer that we ordered.  Unfortunately, that would be the first trip of many that our server made back to our table to inform us that what we ordered was not available.

Kim Chee and Beef Bulgogi Flatbread topped with Goat Cheese

SASA fries

She said…I liked both of the appetizers.  The flatbread was crispy and full of flavor.  I didn’t know what bulgogi was, but after a quick google search found out that it is a Korean dish that usually consists of grilled marinated beef, chicken or pork.  The fries were also crispy, and the dipping sauces were bold and tangy.

He said…It’s been awhile since we’ve been to SASA and one of my favorites there are the fries.  They certainly did not disappoint and the sauces were both very good.  I really enjoyed the flatbread.  The beef bulgogi was very flavorful and the goat cheese was a nice complement to the dish.

Josper Grilled Hanger Steak with Chimichurri Glaze and Roasted Vegetables

She said…Two of us at the table ordered the hanger steak, but they only had one order left.  Our friend was nice enough to let me have it.  According to Accent’s website, the Josper Oven, a unique style of cooking that originated in Spain, combines the features of an oven with the traditional characteristics of charbroiling.  The flavor was unique, and I liked it.  The outside was slightly charred, but without tasting at all burnt.  The quality of the meat was good, and it was cooked to medium rare as I ordered it.  I didn’t care for the strange little pickles pictured at the top, but I did really like the sweet potato salad (the dish at the top left).

Josper Roasted Korean Short Ribs with Root Vegetables and Onigiri Rice

He said…The short ribs were the one item on the menu that stuck out for me so I decided to try it.  I realize that short ribs are a fatty cut, however, my short ribs were too fatty for my taste.  That said, the flavor was delicious.  The rice was very good, however, I’m not sure why the potatoes were also on the dish.  Aside from the cut of meat that I had, I would probably get this dish again.

Shiitake and Tofu Ravioli- House Made Ravioli with Vegetarian filling of Tofu, Oven Roasted Tomatoes & Shiitake Mushrooms. Topped with Carrot Glaze

She said…Our friend ordered the ravioli and was nice enough to let me try one.  I thought the flavors were great, but the pasta itself was a little tough and rubbery.

Accent Smores

Daily Crème Brulee

She said…The smores were good, and we probably should have just stuck with those.  They were out of yet another thing we ordered, the pumpkin bread pudding, so we went with crème brulee.  Mistake.  The flavor was ok, but the consistency was watery.  They also did not have any coffee.  What is up with that?

He said…I agree that the crème brulee was just OK.  Our friends ordered the smores, which everyone enjoyed.

The service was good, but we were continually disappointed that they were out of what we ordered. Overall, we thought the food was good, but nothing really knocked our socks off.  We wouldn’t rush to go back, but we wouldn’t refuse to give it another try either.

Accent on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

