3 Palms Pizzeria

We tried the new 3 Palms Pizzeria in Hudson on Saturday night.  It is in the space where San Francisco Oven used to be that has been empty for a long time now.  We were optimistic because it has the same owners as One Red Door and Flip Side, of which we are fans, and we were hoping to have a pizza place comparable to Crostatas that was closer to home.  Unfortunately, our experience was not positive.

On the positive side, they did a nice job on the remodel, the service was very good, and we liked the fact that they took our cell phone number and texted us when our table was ready.  On the negative side, the pizza was not very good.

This was the traditional meatball appetizer.  Unfortunately, while the menu says you can try 3 meatballs (choice of traditional, turkey and chicken, grass fed lamb and vegetable), our server informed us that they have changed that, and you can only get one large meatball.

She said…I thought the meatball was pretty tasty and the house made ricotta was good.  The bread was dry and tasteless.

He said…I thought the meatball was OK.  The dish could have been seasoned better.  I agree that the bread was not very good.

Margherita D.O.P. – San Marzano tomato, buffalo mozzarella, parmesan, basil, evoo

She said…I did not like this at all.  I think it was mostly the sauce that ruined it for me.  It was a little bitter, and I just really disliked the flavor of it.  The crust was not as crispy as I had hoped, in fact, other than the outside edge, it was kind of soggy.  The quality of the ingredients was lacking and it came through in the flavor.

He said…I was excited to try this pizza.  The appeal of the Margherita pizza is it’s simplicity.  However, everything from the crust to the sauce was disappointing.  I thought the sauce overwhelmed the pizza and the crust was not thin and crisp like an authentic Italian pizza should be.

Confettura di Fiche – fig and balsamic vinegar jam, parma prosciutto ham, dolce Gorgonzola cheese, rosemary, sea salt, evoo

She said…This was just not good at all.  We had a really delicious pizza with the same flavors when we were in Napa (blog coming soon of our awesome meal at Tra Vigne).  I wasn’t expecting it to be as good as that, but I knew the flavors worked well together and thought we’d give it a try.  The fig and balsamic jam was so overpowering, the prosciutto had a weird flavor, and I had the same issues with the crust and the overall quality of the ingredients.

He said…We probably should have read the description more carefully because we probably would not have ordered the pizza if we saw that the words “fig” and “jam” in the same sentence.  Nevertheless, I have the same criticism of this pizza; the sauce overwhelmed the pizza.  Also, the prosciutto tasted like a piece of ham that you get from the deli counter.

We were hoping that we could get a decent, authentic Italian pizza closer to home, but it looks like we’ll just have to make the trek up to Highland Heights to visit Crostatas.

3 Palms Pizzeria on Urbanspoon

3 thoughts on “3 Palms Pizzeria

  1. I have to disagree with your take on the Confettura di Fiche. We found that it was quite excellent. Our crust was crispy and the sweetness of figs was a great contrast to the Gorgonzola and Prosciutto. I found it to be better than other similar pizzas that I’ve had in NY and SF. The Bianco and Verde pizza was also quite good. We did, however, find the Margherita to be just average. For the most part though, quite good.

  2. Marco, I’d be curious to know which pizzerias you are talking about in NYC and San Francisco. The only place I’ve found in NEO that is in the same league with the heavy hitters in those cities is Biga Wood Fired Pizzeria in Kirtland. Crostata’s was good when it first opened, but somewhere along the line there was a disconnect and that pizza is now shit. I will also say that what I’ve had at Vero Bistro is middling as well (despite what Scene Magazine might have to say about it).

    I will say that I have purposely stayed away from 3 Palms because I remember how bad One Red Door was when it first opened up and I know this pizza thing is a new venture for the owners. I have been a fan of these guys for a long time, but realize that it might to a few months for them to get their feet under them.

Leave a Reply

