Dante Boccuzzi Akron (D.B.A.)

We are fans of Dante Boccuzzi’s restaurant in Tremont, so we had to check out his new Akron location soon after it opened.  It’s located where Vegiterranean used to be on the north side of downtown Akron.  They changed the decor slightly, but the patio is still the best place to be on a nice night.  We went with friends and decided to share everything so we could try more dishes.  The menu is similar to the Tremont menu both in set up and actual dishes.

Mussels “Hong Kong style” chile peppers, crab meat, cilantro lime

She said…I loved this broth, but was so disappointed that we did not have a big hunk of crusty bread to soak it up!

He said…What a great way to start the meal!  I really liked the Asian/Latin fusion of the dish.

Crispy Calamari and Rock Shrimp, fine scallions, chile spiced mayo

She said…This was just ok for me.  The saltiness just completely took over the dish.

He said…This dish was my least favorite of the evening.  While I liked the chile spiced mayo, the calamari was disappointing.

Green Spaghetti, garlic braised rock shrimp, spincah, poor man’s cheese

She said…I did not care for this at all.  I thought it was bland.  It tasted like buttered noodles that I would serve my 6 year old.

He said…The waitress raved about this dish, so we decided to give it a try.  While I liked it better than She, I agree that it was more on the bland side.

Arborio Risotto alla carbonara, house cured pancetta, soft poached egg, truffle puree

She said…This dish is right up my alley, and I loved it.  Creamy and decadent, I would order this again and again.

He said…The risotto was cooked perfectly and I loved the truffle puree.

Pappardelle alla bolognese, ragu of beef, veal and pork

She said…This was fabulous.  The pasta was perfectly cooked and the ragu was so flavorful.  I didn’t want to share!

He said…Agreed!  This was my favorite dish of the evening.  I can imagine having a huge bowl of this on a cold winter’s evening, however, it was pretty damn good on a nice summer evening as well!

Chicken, ratatouille tardet, roasted Ohio garlic

She said…I’m not usually a huge fan of chicken, but I was really impressed with this dish.  It was very juicy and flavorful, probably one of the best chicken dishes I’ve ever eaten in a restaurant.

He said…Of course when I ordered a chicken dish, She admonished me. However, I’m not adverse to ordering chicken out, especially if it turns out to be this delicious.  The chicken was moist and tender and the skin was crispy.

She said…OK, I admit it.  The chicken turned out to be a good choice!

Although there were some misses, overall we were very happy with our meal.  The service was very good as well.  We will definitely return to D.B.A.

Dba [Dante Boccuzzi Akron] on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

