Sapore

We love Loretta Paganini’s little gem in Chesterland.  Sapore is cozy and intimate (it only has 8 tables).  It is located right next door to The Loretta Paganini School of Cooking.  They recently started a date night special on Friday evenings where kids can take a cooking class next door while you enjoy dinner!  Brilliant!  We plan to check it out soon!  We headed there a few weeks ago to celebrate a family birthday, and had a great meal and an overall great experience as usual.

Amuse Bouche

We love how they always start you out with a little gift from the chef and a glass of prosecco.  It’s a nice touch, and makes you feel very welcome.

Pan Fried Fresh Mozzarella with tomatoes, arugula and basil pesto vinaigrette

She said…I enjoyed this salad except for the tomatoes which were tasteless. The mozzarella was delicious, and the best part was the vinaigrette. I love pesto, and I’ve been seeing it incorporated into dressings more often lately. This one was bold, tangy and I would’ve loved it just with the greens.

House-Made Artisanal Sausage with grainy mustard and red pepper onion jam

He said..I almost always order a house-made sausage if it’s on the menu. (One of my recent favorites was the Harissa sausage at The Refinery in Tampa). I was a little disappointed in this dish. I felt the sausage was not that flavorful. However, I did enjoy the red pepper jam that accompanied the dish.

She said…Every sausage he eats will now and forever be compared to the Refinery’s Harissa sausage!  Let it go man, it was like 6 months ago!  I hate to break it to him, but considering the Refinery is in Tampa and they change the menu every week, he’ll probably never get it again! 

Pasta Trio – clockwise starting at top right – Hand-Made Artichoke and Ricotta Ravioli with creamy lemon saffron sauce and parmigiano cheese, Hade-Made Pear and Pecorino Cheese Stuffed Pasta in brown butter sage sauce, Goat Cheese Gnocchi with roasted red beet sauce and spring onions

She said…The pasta here is to die for!  I always get pasta when I come here.  I love the option of the pasta trio where you can pick three small servings of different pasta dishes.  There were four of us dining and each ordered a different pasta trio, so it was no small feat that the pasta in each and every dish was cooked perfectly to al dente.  The winner of this trio for me was clearly the pear and pecorino stuffed pasta in brown sage butter. I also liked the gnocchi with beet sauce.  I thought the beet sauce was really unique, but the gnocchi could have used a little more goat cheese.  The artichoke ravioli was my least favorite of the pastas.  I think the saffron slightly overpowered the rest of the dish.  

He said…There she goes with the goat cheese again!  Give it a rest!  I tasted the gnocchi and thought the goat cheese was perfectly balanced.

Pasta Trio – clockwise starting at top right – Hand-Made Artichoke and Ricotta Ravioli with creamy lemon saffron sauce and parmigiano cheese, Risotto del Giorno, Pasta del Giorno.

He said…When we visit the restaurant, I usually order the meat prix fixe meal. However, I was in a pasta mood, so I ordered the pasta trio.  I liked all three pasta dishes, but my favorite was the Pasta del Giorno, which was a lasagna with bechamel sauce and roasted red peppers.  The bechamel sauce was creamy and delicious.  I’m glad it was a relatively small portion since the dish was probably too rich to order as an entree.  I also really liked the Risotto del Giorno.  The spring peas in the risotto gave the dish a fresh taste that was a nice contrast with the richness of the other pasta dishes.

Hot Apple Cinnamon Crepes with caramel gelato

She said…the crepes were delicate, the gelato creamy, the perfect ending.  As you can tell, we dove into it before remembering to snap a photo (something we tend to do quite often, so excuse our half eaten dessert photos)!

He said…I really enjoyed the dessert, especially the caramel gelato.  I would have been happy with a bowl of it!

The service at Sapore is always top notch, as is the food.  Everything is so fresh and prepared with great attention to detail.  Chesterland is a little bit of a drive for us, but totally worth it.  So if you have not been there, put it on your to do list!
Sapore on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

