The Wine Bar at Solaire

The Wine Bar at Solaire is a quaint little space above Solaire Hair Studio and Spa in the First and Main area of Hudson.  We didn’t even know it existed until last year when some friends suggested we meet there for a drink one night before heading to dinner.  We loved the atmosphere of the place and have returned several times to sit at the bar and enjoy a cocktail or a glass of wine.  We recently decided to try it for dinner.  It’s an intimate and cozy space with about 8 to 10 tables and a small bar. They also have a four room inn just off the restaurant.

Spice Roasted Shrimp with Quinoa and Zucchini – jumbo shrimp sauteed in a wine reduction cream sauce and served over quinoa with slices of zucchini

She said…I liked the spicy flavor of the shrimp, but they were slightly overcooked.  The wine reduction cream sauce was rich and flavorful, and I enjoyed it with the quinoa and zucchini.  I like quinoa and don’t often see it on a menu so that was a plus for me.

Strip Steak
USDA choice strip steak served with fork smashed potatoes, spinach & mushrooms

He said…I love a good steak, however, I have to say I was disappointed with this one.  I ordered my steak medium rare and it was closer to medium well.  Also, the cut of meat was average.  As for the potatoes, spinach and mushrooms, they did not have very much flavor.  I was torn between choosing this dish and the rack of lamb.  Next time, my choice will not be difficult.

The bottom line…we probably wouldn’t rush back for dinner, but still one of our favorites for enjoying a drink.

Wine Bar at Solaire on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

